Sat 07.10.23 Final concert

8 p.m., Peenemunde Museum Power Plant

Anna Vinnitskaya (piano)
NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra
Mikko Franck (conductor)

Jāzeps Vītols: “Līgo”. Symphonic poem op. 4
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in F-sharp minor op. 1
Jean Sibelius: 1st Symphony in E minor op. 39

“Līgo” is the cry used in Latvia to call for the singing of the refrain in the St. John’s Day carols. Jāzeps Vītols, the founder of Latvian national romanticism in music, dedicated a symphonic poem to this festival in 1899. With her, the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester starts into the glamorous final concert of the Usedom Music Festival. With pianist Anna Vinnitskaya, winner of the Queen Elisabeth Competition in Brussels, we celebrate the 150th anniversary of her birth. Birthday of Sergei Rachmaninov. And Mikko Franck has brought from his Finnish homeland the first symphony by Sibelius, written in the same year as “Līgo”.

Tickets 95 | 85 | 70 | 55 | 35 | 25 € |



The Usedom Music Festival is a member of Musikland MV:

Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival, Usedom Music Festival, Schönberg Music Summer, Greifswald Bach Week, Eldena JazzEvenings, Neubrandenburg Jazz Spring, See more Jazz Rostock, Nordic Sound