Concert program – day 2

Saturday, May 21, 22, 8 p.m.

Joan Tower : 1920/2019 (European premiere)
Commissioned by the New York Philharmonic Project 19

André Previn : Violin Concerto ‘ Anne Sophie
Moderato – Cadenza Slow – Andante (‘from a train in Germany’)


Béla Bartók : Concerto for Orchestra
Introduzione – Presentando le coppie – Elegia – Intermezzo interrotto – Finale

Anne-Sophie Mutter (violin)
Jaap van Zweden (Principal Conductor)
New York Philharmonic


The four-time Grammy Award winner and formative soloist, mentor and visionary connects Germany and the USA like no other violinist. Her husband, the American-Jewish pianist, composer and conductor André Previn , who died in 2019, dedicated the violin concerto ‘ Anne-Sophie ‘ to her. It is one of his most successful works and a profound love letter full of virtuosity for a master of her instrument. Joan Tower is also dedicated to strong women. With 1920/2019 from the New York Philharmonic ‘s Project 19, the young composer pays tribute to the 19th Amendment to the US Constitution, which guaranteed women the right to vote and which celebrated its centenary in 2020. The New York Philharmonic also finds diversity in equality in Béla Bartók’s most successful work. His concerto for orchestra, premiered in Boston in 1944, demands brilliant solo and virtuoso performances from the orchestra.